KTRS, St. Louis, MO - Sunday marked the day Illinois residents could officially apply for a concealed weapons permit.
The Illinois State Police began accepting applications on its website yesterday. State Police have up to 90 days to approve or deny applications, as long as the applications are complete and fingerprints are submitted in an electronic format. The agency will have an additional 30 days to complete a manual background check if applicants choose not to submit fingerprints, so it could be months before anyone will actually be allowed to possess a concealed firearm.
Illinois is the last state in the nation to allow conceal-carry.
Conceal carry in Illinois is moving closer.
The Illinois State Police say they've launched a new website that explains the application process for Illinoisans. Applications for carrying concealed weapons will be available beginning on January 5. Police say the new website should give would-be applicants additional information about eligibility requirements, application fees, training requirements and official forms. There also will be details for firearms instructors.
Authorities anticipate 400,000 people will apply for concealed carry permits in the first year alone.
You can find the website here.
SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - The Illinois House has allocated $33 million to set up a program designed to regulate the carrying of concealed firearms.
Lawmakers voted 96-17 for the $50 million supplemental appropriation Tuesday. Rep. Luis Arroyo - a Chicago Democrat - says about $500,000 is new general-revenue spending.
The legislation gives the Illinois State Police authority to use money from $150 concealed-carry permit fees to pay for the additional staff and equipment necessary to set up the program.
Lawmakers approved concealed carry last summer after a federal appeals court said Illinois' last-in-the-nation ban was unconstitutional.
Several complained the measure does not include $112 million a court has ordered be paid to union workers who didn't get their full raise in 2011.
FREEPORT, Ill. (AP) - Hundreds of people across Illinois have been registered as concealed-carry instructors. One of them is a reserve deputy with the Stephenson County sheriff's office.
Rena Kerchner formed the company Cloaked Carry LLC. She tells The Journal-Standard in Freeport that she wants to teach residents to be concealed-carry certified before Illinois launches its program next year.
Illinois approved a law in July allowing the public possession of a concealed firearm. Anyone who wants to carry a weapon first must complete 16 hours of training from a state-approved instructor. Those instructors must use the state's training curriculum. Illinois is the last state in the U.S. to allow concealed carry.
As of Thursday more than 850 instructors had been established across Illinois.
CHICAGO (AP) - Gov. Pat Quinn says he plans to talk to the Legislature about making sure state police have enough resources at their disposal to deal with a backlog of applications for gun ownership.
The Illinois State Police continues to struggle with a backlog of applications for gun ownership. So it remains to be seen how they can handle an influx of requests for permits to carry concealed weapons.
The department has 49,000 applications for Firearm Owners Identification cards awaiting approval.
Police estimate there will be 400,000 applications for "carry" permits in the first year.
Quinn says he wants to make sure police are able to do their jobs.
In July Illinois became the last state in the nation to allow residents to carry concealed weapons.
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, Ill. (AP) - So far, more than 50 instructors have been approved to train Illinois residents applying for applications to carry concealed weapons.
The Daily Herald reports 54 instructors have been OK'd for the program - most of them in northern Illinois.
Illinois State Police spokeswoman Monique Bond says as many as 1,000 more applications have been received.
In July, Illinois became the last state in the nation to approve a law allowing the public possession of firearms.
Anyone who wants to apply for a concealed-carry license must complete 16 hours of training from a state-approved instructor. The instructor also must use the state's training curricula.
Applications for concealed-carry licenses will be available from state police beginning Jan. 5.
A list of instructors can be found here.